Three LG Health teams recently were honored with 2017 Penn Medicine Quality and Patient Safety Awards.
The awards, which are chosen by a multidisciplinary committee, acknowledge departments that have exhibited leadership and innovation in activities that ensure high-quality clinical outcomes, patient satisfaction, patient safety and cost efficiency.
Internal Medicine and Behavioral Health won the Quality & Patient Safety Award for “Universal Screening for Substance Abuse to Drive Evidence Based Protocols for Medical Treatment and Addiction Intervention.”

Team members include: Tara Tawil, M.D.; Tracey LaVallias; Kate Henry, LCSW, CCDPD, CIP; Silviu Stefanescu, RN; Jen Blaettler, RN; Charlene Haley, RN; Kathryn Hammer, RN; Jennifer Costello, PharmD; Megan Carlon; Tina Suess, RN; Adam Lake, M.D., FAAFP; Caroline Barnhart, LCSW; and Frank Miller.

The Microbiology Team won the Operational Award for “Technology Innovations.”

Team members include: Joseph M. Kontra, M.D.; Ann Horning, MT, SM; Patricia Myers, MT, SM, SLS; Kelly Bear, MLS; Lori Dell, MT; Jordan Martin, MLS; Mallory Westcott, MLS; and Microbiology Staff.

Walter L. Aument Family Health Center won an Honorable Mention for “Mediset Safety Initiative.”
Team members include: Heather Snyder, BSN, RN; Jonathan Stewart, M.D.; Terri Ridley, MBA, BS, RN; and Christian Hermansen, M.D., MBA.

Internal Medicine and Behavioral Health (right), the Microbiology Team (below, right) and Walter L. Aument Family Health Center (below, left) were honored with 2017 Penn Medicine Quality and Patient Safety Awards.


Trauma surveyors visit Lancaster General Hospital

Surveyors from the Pennsylvania Trauma Systems Foundation conducted an accreditation survey of the Lancaster General Hospital Trauma program March 14.

The Trauma program must follow 28 standards to maintain accreditation of one, two or three years. The PTSF’s final report is due this summer.

“Accreditation of our trauma service recognizes LG Health’s dedication to consistently and reliably providing specialized medical services and resources to patients suffering from traumatic injuries,” President & CEO Jan Bergen wrote in a thank you message to the Trauma team.

“I am truly grateful for the countless hours that so many individuals and teams spent in preparation for the surveyors’ visit.”

Share This Page: