Penn Medicine Lancaster General Health has announced recent changes to its Board of Trustees. Consisting of community and business leaders from throughout Lancaster County and surrounding communities, the board sets policy governing the operation of LG Health and oversees the work of six board committees.

Carolyn Scanlan
Carolyn Scanlan

Carolyn F. Scanlan was named chairperson of the Board of Trustees. Scanlan, retired CEO of the Hospital & Health System Association of Pennsylvania, has served on the board for eight years. She succeeds D. Michael Wege, who led the board from 2018-2021. Wege will remain on the board. Neal Salerno, president of Eurofins Lancaster Laboratories, was named vice-chairperson of the board and will chair the Governance Committee.

The Board of Trustees also welcomed Paul F. Carroll, MD, who was appointed to a three-year term. Dr. Carroll is currently a board-certified orthopedic surgeon with Orthopedic Associates of Lancaster. He also serves as team physician and consultant for Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology, Franklin & Marshall College, and Lancaster Catholic High School.

Paul Carroll, MD head shot
Paul Carroll, MD

“We are pleased to welcome Dr. Carroll to the LG Health Board of Trustees,” said John J. Herman, CEO of Penn Medicine Lancaster General Health. “This group of talented leaders have a true passion for improving the health and well-being of our community, and their diverse expertise ensures that LG Health services are safe, effective, and continue to reflect the values and traditions of the communities we serve.”

In addition to serving on the Lancaster General Health board, trustees serve on sub committees, which are established to review and consider specific subjects affecting Lancaster General Health. The following chairpersons were named to the committees below:

  • Audit & Compliance Committee – Chair remains as Edward W. Monborne
  • Executive Committee – new Chair is Carolyn F. Scanlan
  • Finance / Capital Allocations Committee – Chair remains as Lori A. Pickell
  • Governance Committee – new Chair is Neal Salerno
  • Mission & Community Benefit Committee – new Chair is Daniel A. Wubah, PhD
  • Quality Committee – Chair remains as Patrick D. Whalen

Francis J. Manning, MD, of Manning, Rommel & Thode Associates, is leaving the board after the completion of his three-year term of service. During the July Board meeting, LG Health recognized him for his contributions to the health system and the community.

Share This Page: